Kerry Andrew and NYCGB's Esther Jones at the British Composer Awards ceremony. Image: Mark Allan

7 December 2017

Kerry Andrew has received her fourth British Composer Award for 'who we are', commissioned and premiered by NYCGB.

The win was announced at the annual awards ceremony, held this year at the British Museum in London and presented by BBC Radio 3 broadcasters Sara Mohr-Pietsch and Andrew McGregor. 'who we are' was one of three works nominated in the Amateur or Young Performers category, alongside 'The Feast That Went Off With A Bang' by Ed Hughes, and 'The Hogboon' by the late Sir Peter Maxwell Davies. 

In her acceptance speech, Andrew thanked NYCGB Deputy Music Director Esther Jones for originally approaching her with the commission, and praised the singers and staff of NYCGB for the quality of the premiere performance at the Royal Albert Hall in 2016. 

This is the first time that an NYCGB-commissioned work has received a British Composer Award, and crowns a brilliant 18 months for the new piece which have included performances at the Royal Albert Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Snape Maltings and on tour to China and Hong Kong, and a concert video which has received more than 11,000 views on YouTube. 

A total of 13 awards were made across 11 genre categories and two special categories, which honoured Shiva Feshareki (Innovation) and Nigel Osborne MBE (Inspiration). The Choral category was won by Andrew Hamilton with 'Proclamation of the Republic.'

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast a programme dedicated to the British Composer Awards on Sunday 10 December at 7.30pm. 

Visit Kerry Andrew's website
Visit the British Composer Awards website

'who we are' by Kerry Andrew was commissioned by the NYCGB New Music Programme with the generous support of Ambache Charitable Trust, Britten-Pears Foundation, PRS for Music Foundation, and RVW Trust